Prompt #8: Describe your mom or grandmother’s kitchen.

As we enter November, we enter into the month and American season of food. Thanksgiving invites the indulgence of pies, turkey, casseroles, and on and on it goes. In light of this, it only seemed fitting for our prompt this week to match. If you don’t have memories of your mom or grandmother’s kitchen, try a kitchen atmosphere in general. What is your kitchen like? What is your friend’s kitchen like? Just try to make it come to life with all the sensory details: sight, sound, taste, touch, smell, and all that fun stuff. Thank you to WriteShop for the idea of this prompt. Please check out their website here for more great prompts.

Prompt #8: Describe your mom or grandmother’s kitchen.

Grandma’s shoes squeaked on her patterned kitchen tiles. Fat and oil sizzled on the stove as she prepared to cook the green beans and potatoes. The smell of turkey filled the air.Grandma served meals right on the dot and filled the whole table full of meat, veggies, potatoes, and dessert. With my grumbling stomach, the familiar clatter of plates and water filling our cups invited a rumble of hunger. My brother always had Kool-Aid. I always had tea alongside my mom and grandmother. Grandma called me in, the only other girl, to help.

A homemade pumpkin pie and whipped cream lay on the counter. A big spoon sat next to them.

“Whip it,” she ordered.

I looked down at the pie and the whipped cream. “Whip what?”

I had never been in the kitchen much. I hated cooking. I was a kid after all. Why did I have to cook?

“Whip it,” she repeated, frustration rising in her voice.

“Okay,” I whined. I picked up the spoon. The lid of the whipped cream made a sucking sound as I opened it. I took a big dollop of the whipped cream and proceeded to vigorously whip it into the pie. My grandma whipped her head around.

“Stop! Stop!”

“But you told me to whip it?”

She shook her head. My brother in the other room laughed.

Needless to say, I never had to “whip it” ever again.

Notes: Whelp. That’s a story I still get made fun of for. Hope you guys enjoyed it. As I was writing this, I realized just how hard it is to avoid cliche when writing about a grandma’s kitchen. Thus, I think the scene I added helps to distinguish it from other grandmas and their kitchens, hopefully.

Thoughts? Responses? Leave them down below!

Leave a comment